WhatsApp Image 2023-02-26 at 9.49.20 AM (1)
WhatsApp Image 2023-02-26 at 9.49.20 AM

Polls to 5 states in 7 phases

Kochi: Elections to five states will be held in seven phases from February 10 to March 7, the Election Commission of India announced on Saturday.

The results would be announced on March 10. A total of 18.34 crore voters will exercise their franchise to elect representatives from 690 constituencies.

Model code of conduct has come into effect in UP, Uttarakhand, Goa, Manipur and Punjab, Chief Election Commission Sushil Chandra told reporters in New Delhi.

First phase would be held on February 10, second on February 14, third on February 20, fourth on February 23, fifth on February 27, sixth on March 3 and seventh on March 7.

There are 690 constituencies.
Except Punjab, BJP is ruling in all the four states, media reports said.

The commission has exhorted parties to file nominations online. There would be 2,15,368 polling stations which is a 16 per cent increase compared to the last election.

A total of 1,620 booths would be managed only by women staff. Each candidate could spend a maximum of Rs 40 lakh except Manipur and Goa where the limit is 28 lakh.

Photo Credit: Twitter

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *