WhatsApp Image 2023-02-26 at 9.49.20 AM (1)
WhatsApp Image 2023-02-26 at 9.49.20 AM

Modi takes oath, 2 ministers for Kerala 

Kochi: Narendra Modi was sworn in as Prime Minister for third term while Suresh Gopi, George Kurian from Kerala became ministerson Sunday.President Draupadi Murmu administered the oath of office to Narendra Modi to head the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) government.Modi became the second Prime Minister in the country’s history to equal the country’s first Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru feat to become premier for the third time.

Modi was first elected as Prime Minister in 2014 when NDA came to power defeating the Congress-led UPA government which ruled the country from 2004 to 2014. Several leaders and State heads from the neighborhood region and Indian Ocean region attended the event.Seventy others were sworn in as ministers.This is for the first time since 2014 that the BJP has failed to get absolute majority to form a government of its own forcing it to heavily depend mainly on TDP and JDU.

Eleven members of other parties of the coalition also took oath.There are 30 Cabinet Ministers, 5 Ministers of State with Independent Charge, and 36 Ministers of State. There are ministers belonging to 27 Other Backward Classes (OBC), ten Scheduled Castes (SC), five Scheduled Tribes (ST), and five minorities. 

Photo Credit: X

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *